A Life Untold

Ranting while I’m Raving; Technology News and Views

  • RSS My Tumblr Blog

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS Facebook Status

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS My Google Shared Items

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

While at City Lights on Saturday, (must post about…

Posted by titusferguson on November 22, 2004

While at City Lights on Saturday, (must post about City Lights some time) I picked up the most hilarious book ever. It’s called “How to Be A Canadian” and is by Ian and Will Ferguson.

Its so funny I feel the need to post a part from it:

“As a fledgling Canadian, you will have to be extra-vigilant. There are lots of imposters out there. If you suspect that someone is falsely trying to pass themselves off as a Canadian, make the following statement – and then carefully note the reaction:

Last night, I cashed my pogey and went to buy a mickey of C.C. at the beer parlour, but my skidoo got stuck in the muskeg on my way back to the duplex. I was trying to deke out a deer, you see. Damn chinook, melted everything. And then a Mountie snuck up behind me in a ghost car and gave me an impaired. I was S.O.L. , sitting there dressed only in my Standfelds and a touque at the time. And the Mountie, he’s all chippy and everything, calling me a “shit disturber” and whatnot. What could I say except “Chimo”!

If the person you are talking to nods sympathetically, they’re one of us. If, however, they stare at you with blank incomprehension, they are not a real Canadian. Have them reported to the authorities at once.”

Isn’t that just great! Alright, loyal readers, what does it say?

Leave a Reply

 
