A Life Untold

Ranting while I’m Raving; Technology News and Views

  • RSS My Tumblr Blog

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS Facebook Status

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS My Google Shared Items

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

I have a chronic fear that my lab work will not tu…

Posted by titusferguson on March 10, 2005

I have a chronic fear that my lab work will not turn out. Especially when I’m making up my one exxperiment. I don’t know if what I did was right, maybe I won’t get any growth. I don’t want to have to do it all over again….

Transformations are extra difficult. All I’m doing is pipetting small amounts of liquid onto a petri dish, and hoping that something grows. Or in my case does grow.

Heres my experiment. Take a four plasmids, coat two of their epindorf tubes with sunscreen. Put all the tubes into a UV machine, and zap them for 1 minute and 4 minutes. Do this twice. Then transform the plasmids and plate them on petri dishes containing amp. The ones with amp resistance will grow.

The hypothesis is that sunscreen will protect the plasmids and keep them from dying. Therefore I’ll see growth….

Here’s hoping it works.

Leave a Reply

 
